

First Announcement

Scientific Council on Biophysics of Russian Academy of Science Lomonosov Moscow State University



Joint Institute for Nuclear Research, Dubna, Russia with support from International Union for Pure and Applied Biophysics

International Symposium



Modern spectroscopy methods in studying structure and function of biopolymers in biology and medicine



May 28 – June 2, 2007, Dubna, Russia

Scientific Coordinators

Andrey B. Rubin Chairmen of the Scientific Council on Biophysics of Ian C.P. Smith

President of IUPAB, Director General Inst. of Biodiagnostics NRC Canada

Head of Biophysics Dep., Lomonosov Moscow State University Russia

Russian Academy of Sciences

Organising committee

Eugene A. Krasavin JINR, Dubna, Russia

Modern methods of spectroscopy are very effective in biopolymer research and have great advantage as non-invasive ones. They are successively used for bioindication of different diseases since they provide an opportunity to detect primary stages of different pathogenic changes. Biomedical spectroscopy is the boundary area in biophysics where a great number of new results have been obtained for the last years.

At the symposium we are going to discuss fundamental basis of spectral methods as well as the results of their application in biomedicine. Special attention will be given to infrared spectroscopy methods, radiobiological methods, polarized fluorescence, acoustic methods, gamma ray and optical spectroscopy and others as well as to the problems of their application in medicine. Principles and methods of modern biomedical diagnostics will be discussed with special reference to primary processes of optical and ionizing radiation effects on biopolymers.

Ian C.P. Smith (Canada) Valery Kupriyanov (Canada) Henrik Flyvbjerg (Denmark) Alexei Bogdanov (USA) Eugene Nikolaev (Russia) Piotr Bregestovsky (France) Joe Tien (USA) Yury Vladimirov (Russia) Leo Gribov (Russia)

Invited Speakers (to be confirmed)

Alex I. Smirnov (USA) Michael Andre (USA) Erik Mosekilde (Denmark) Alexander Archakov (Russia) Alexander Sobolev (Russia) Leonardo Masotti (Italy) Victor Svet (Canada) John Connally (Canada) Eugene Gussakovsky (Canada) Alexey Sissakian (Russia) Aaron Fenster (Canada) Latchezar Avramov (Bulgaria) Sylwester Sommer (Germany) Eugene Krasavin (Russia) Andrzej Wojcik (Poland) Stanislav Kozubek (Czechia) Radostina Georgieva (Bulgaria)

Registration fee is 250\$ (including local transfer, welcome party and conference materials) Deadline: registration – May 1, 2007; abstract submission – April 28, 2007 Registration and abstract submission, visa and hotel information are available via web-site: http://www.msm.biophys.msu.ru For further information please contact <u>dubna2007@biophys.msu.ru</u>